Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes April 25, 2013, 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

The Cheri Brodeur called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m. March 2013 minutes were approved.

Provost's Report and RCM Report

Joe Glover, Provost

- RCM
 - This has been a year of intensive discussion of RCM with the deans. There has been some dissatisfaction with the RCM system. We have not had the opportunity in the last five years to disaggregate any dissatisfaction with the system itself from the dissatisfaction with the budget situation at the university. Next year with the influx of new resources to the university we will get some sense of whether or not we are really dissatisfied with the system or dissatisfied with the lack of money.
 - We met once a month with the Deans this year to discuss RCM. Last month we had a visit from John Curry who works at Euron Corporation. He actually wrote the principles in which RCM is based. He met with everyone from the CFO to the Dean's staffs. At the end of his visit he mentioned three criticisms and gave some suggestions:
 - Our implementation was too complex. He encouraged the university to simplify the system.
 - The weighting scheme is too complex. He said that this this led to playing games with the weighting system.
 - He wasn't fond of exempting research from basic RCM tax. He thought that it would lead to gaming the system.
 - Decided to continue using our system through the summer. We are going to study over the summer. In the fall we will reconvene with deans to decide if we want to continue.

Chair's Report

- The last meeting of the academic year is May 9 in Holland 180. Please make note of it.
- Chair-Elect Election
 - After each candidate gave a 5 minute presentation about his/her qualifications for Chair-Elect, the senate elected Pradeep Kumar on the second written ballot. (First Ballot: Florin Curta 13, <u>Mirka Koro-Ljungberg</u> 12, <u>Charles Guy</u> 20, <u>Pradeep Kumar</u> 33; Second Ballot: Charles Guy 27, Pradeep Kumar 49).

President's Report

Bernie Machen, President

Cheri Brodeur, Faculty Senate Chair

- The legislature is still working on the budget. The legislature will end in a couple weeks.
- Pre-eminence Bill
 - Pre-eminence designation bill designates 12 measurable characteristics of pre-eminent universities. Any university that is able to pass all 12 of these characteristics can be considered a pre-eminent university. This bill was passed and signed into law. The university who is designated "pre-eminent" will receive \$15M recurrent funding for the purpose of pursuing advancement to the prestigious status. This is new money and will be distributed with a plan that the administrators will put together.

- We are designated the online university for the state system. This comes with \$15M for the first year with \$5M each year afterwards. This is a great opportunity for the university to step forward. We were chosen because of our reputation.
- Regardless of what courses students have had when they are admitted, the university can still require that all undergrads take certain core courses such as the Good Life Course. We will most likely have a group of courses that the students can choose to take. This will mean the average number of credit hours will most likely go up.

Action Items

Proposed Constitutional Amendment

John Leavey, Chair Constitution Committee

This item was approved.

Information Items

FEO Update

Kathy Long, Associate Provost Academic Affairs

- Faculty Enhancement Opportunity was started as a pilot three years ago with a goal to advance academic and professional scholarly abilities of faculty members and to advance individuals, departments and colleges of UF.
- Faculty members who are not part of the bargaining unit are eligible to apply.
- Totals to date (April 2013)
 - o 439 proposals submitted
 - 317 proposals approved and funded
 - \$5,401,860 in FEO funds disbursed
 - All Academic Units at UF received FEOs

Infrastructure Council Report

Jay Watkins, Chair

Infrastructure Council

- Responsibilities of the Infrastructure Council is to encompass the University's infrastructure supporting the University's infrastructure supporting the University's academic mission, including the provision of physical facilities and other physical resources; libraries; information technology; the campus master plan; and the availability of adequate computer, classroom, laboratory and other resources.
- Issues for 2012/2013
 - Review effect of budget cuts on infrastructure
 - IT Security and IT updates
 - Open Access
 - Online Tenure and Promotion process
 - Cross-Campus Greenway Design
 - Intellectual property and privacy issues regarding recording of classroom lectures
 - Construction of Heavener Hall location and new campus gateway
 - Renovation of Reitz Union and impact on the front lawn and campus
 - Football game parking
 - Changes in distribution and use of mitigation funds

- o Harrell Medical Building impact
- New datacenter is completed

Meeting adjourned at 4:24 p.m.

Senators Attending

Scott Banks **Caryn Plummer** Sherry Benton Mario Poceski Neta Pulvermacher Alexander Berkovich Jim Bice Patrick Reakes **Donald Bolser Beverly Roberts** Kendal Broad Andrew Rosalsky Martha Brown George Samraj **Babette Brumback Beverly Sanders** Paul Chadik Peter Sayeski Edward Chan SA Sherif **Donald Cohen** Steve Shugan Florin Curta Meera Sitharam Tammy Davidson Maya Stanfield-Mazzi Kate Fogarty Margaret Temple-Smith **Robyn Gleason** Steven Thomas Charlie Guy Mark Tillman Shannon Hamlett Amy Tobler Jacob Hammer Scott Tomar **Christopher Hass** Sonal Tuli Galia Hatav Sharda Udassi **Richard Hill** Neill Wallis **Daniel Hoh** Lori Waxenberg Shannon Holliday Ann Wehmeyer Alice Holmes Karen Whalen Margeaux Johnson Joe Wilson Mike Katovich Janet Yamamoto Mary Ellen Young Joseph Katz **Dmitry Kopelevich** Lei Zhou Pradeep Kumar Roberto Zori John Leavey Lora Levett Liaisons James Mclesky Cheri Brodeur Renwei Mei Paula Fussell David Miller Joe Glover Scott Myers Marc Heft Vasudha Narayanan Kathleen Long Nawari Nawari Bernie Machen **David Ostrov** Scott Nygren John Palmer Jay Watkins **Deanna Pelfrey** Barbara Wingo Jorg Peters